Revised: September 2007
- The Mancos Public Library (MPL) shall serve all persons residing within the Mancos Library District boundaries.
- Library users must fill out a membership application form and have a permanent address within the district’s boundaries. Proof of residency must be provided.
- Cards will be issued to anyone from birth and older.
- For children 13 years and younger, a parent or guardian is responsible and must sign membership forms.
- Library users 14 years and older may register for a library card without parent or guardian permission. For patrons 14 years and older, library card information will not be disclosed to anyone.
- Patrons who only want access to the computers will fill out the Application for Computer Users.
- As a participant of the Colorado Libraries Collaborate! (CLC) program, Mancos Public Library will allow anyone with a CLC card to borrow materials from the MPL. To receive a CLC designation (MPL barcode), the patron must have a library card from a Colorado library.
- Temporary residents may obtain a library card by giving a $20 deposit that will be returned when the patron leaves, as long as there are no fines or books out on the card.
- To check out materials, a library card or card number is required.
Loan Period, Renewals and Reserves
- Books and materials have a check-out period of three weeks, unless otherwise noted.
- The renewal of New books is discouraged.
- Books, media and materials may be renewed twice, as long as they are not reserved for another patron.
- Videos and DVDs have a check-out period of seven days, with a limit of three items per card.
- Patrons may borrow up to fifteen (15) items on a card.
- Reserves may be placed on library materials that are not currently available. Patrons will be notified when the materials are available. Reserved items will be held for seven days and then be returned to the shelf.
Fines and Charges
- For media items, there is a seven–day grace period of no fines following the due date.
- For media items, a $.10 per day fine is assessed on all overdue materials after seven days. A maximum of $5.00 will be charged.
- No fines will be assessed on books and print materials.
- Borrowing privileges will be suspended when a patron has not returned material(s) that are more than 30 days overdue.
- A replacement fee for library cards is $1.00.
Return of Materials and Damaged Items
- Library materials may be returned during the day inside the library or anytime (24/7) in the bookdrop at the front of the library.
- When materials are lost or damaged, so as to be judged by the library as unsuitable, the patron must pay the replacement cost.
- An overdue notice is sent by email, mail or phone call approximately a week following the due date. A follow-up letter is sent at one month overdue. At the six-week overdue date, the “Sheriff’s Letter” is sent for materials that have a total cost of $50 or more (see attached copy). The “Sheriff’s Letter” is sent certified; the 10-day action deadline begins on date of patron signature. At the discretion of the Library Director, charges may be filed in accordance with Colorado Revised Statutes, with the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Department if the overdue material is not returned or paid for.
Library Hours, unless otherwise posted, shall be:
Monday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am – 3:00 pm